Coffee Talk

I’ve become one of those people who is incapable of thinking and or saying nice things before that first cup of coffee. There is a reason why I wake up extra early; it’s so I can have a cup of liquid cheer before I have to talk to another human. It’s a system that works, however, due to the fact that we are in a hotel room and the coffee is in the lobby and I do not want to go to the lobby before showering,  the system has been altered.

This is not good.

Also not good? The hotel coffee.

But, it gets the job done. I cant be too picky when my mood is at stake.

In other news,  we are doing a major shopping trip for all those fun household goodies like trash cans and shower curtains. I’m not crazy about shopping on one of the busiest shopping weekends of the year. Which, by the way, don’t toy think it’s dumb
that this weekend is referred to as ‘Black Friday WEEKEND?’ Friday is only one day, not a weekend, which implies more than one day.  Sorry, I must need extra coffee to prevent arguments over semantics in the morning. Anyway, I love to shop, but I hate people, so shopping on busy days makes me all tense. Alas, we need garbage cans and a TV.

Yesterday we joined Costco and found a really nice TV to buy. Food is pretty expensive around here and Costco will help cut costs on some items,  but most of our shopping will have to be done at the commissary. Besides, we will never save money at Costco if we are  easily lured by low priced electronics. That’s how they find the suckers.

Right now it feels like we are on vacation and not about to settle down and stay put for three years. It will sink in eventually, but part of me is hoping this really is just a vacation. I know in my head that we will feel at home here very soon. I know this. It’s just kind of hard  to believe it right now.

Okay, time to get back to the room so we can get to shopping. I’ve been sitting in the gorgeous lobby, drinking sub par coffee, typing this on my Kindle for far too long.

PS—Any egregious spelling errors can be blamed on the small Kindle key board and my sausage fingers.

:)

4 responses

  1. I totally get the “we are on vacation” feeling. I still feel like that in Germany 3 months in. (But considering we are leaving in 4 more months, I guess it is kind of like an extended, really expensive, very stressful vacation.)*

    • Leave it to the Army to turn a potentially great opportunity into an expensive, stressful extended vacation. I can imagine you feel that way, what with finally getting there and then finding out it’s time to move. I hope you two can enjoy your last few months to the fullest.

  2. I think about y’all everyday and just sat down to check your blog to find out what’s happening in your world. I miss y’all even more knowing you’re so far away. It’s been a couple weeks since you posted so I pray you’re settled in and getting into a routine. I know y’all are not into the mushy stuff, but hug and kiss Craig and Caroline for me. Caroline’s package won’t likely make it before Christmas. Going to UPS store tomorrow to see how much it will cost to be on time! My goal for 2013 is to be thoughtful, organized and punctual. I love you all very much. kc

    • Hey KC. I know I need to blog more. I will. When I find my head. I think it’s still in a box some where. We’re settled for the most part. Caroline has made friends in the neighborhood, which is always my biggest concern. They’re Army brats, which is extra great. As expected, I’m having the toughest time adjusting, but that’s nothing new. I’m not so good with change. I hope to pull it together soonish to update everyone. You’re sweet to send Caroline something, but you know it’s totally unnecessary. Good luck with your 2013 goal…..I try to be organized, thoughtful and punctual, but it never seems to happen. You have plenty of reasonable excuses. As for me? Well, I’m just hopeless. :) Best to you all! Merry Christmas!

Yo.

