Blue Skies

Our first few days in Florida have been marked with perpetual cloudy skies and thundershowers. I’m sure the gloomy weather has nothing to do with the fact that I entered the state; I’m not really like Eeyore, walking around with a storm cloud that follows me, right?

This afternoon, I looked outside and couldn’t believe how blue and beautiful the sky was.



The afternoon thunderstorm clouds look like they’re moving in, which isn’t a surprise. However, it was really nice to catch a glimpse of those cheerful blue skies.

In other news, I’ve been home at my parent’s house all day. It’s been nice and quiet, which, as you know, I tend to like. As I was searching the cupboards for coffee filters earlier, I came across something that made me chuckle.

Here’s the thing: my mom is a talented, fun, good natured person. She has good taste, shares my disdain for clutter and is pretty hard to make mad. However, her kitchen is a mess. Not physically a mess, mind you; her kitchen is rather lovely. It’s her cupboards that bother me so.

Clearly my mom is not a baker.

I found some baking powder and corn starch in her pantry


with this expiration date:


Um, yeah.

I think it’s time for some new baking powder, mom.

I had a good chuckle and threw the old stuff away. She also had a container of cocoa powder that expired in 2008, but I didn’t get a picture of it.

It’s all good, though.


Because she has Nutella.

If you’ve ever had Nutella, you know what I mean.
Yo.

