Only A Little Bit Scary

I tried kombucha yesterday.  My sister constantly sings kombucha’s praises and I figured it was time to give it a shot.  It’s supposed to be really good for you; nature’s cure-all, if you will.  Even though I’ve thought about giving kombucha a try for quite some time, I kept putting it off.  Because, honestly?  It’s kind of scary.  It’s fermented.  And it smells like vinegar.

With a little trepidation, I placed a bottle in my basket at Target yesterday.  With a bit more trepidation, I opened the bottle, only to be greeted with the sizzle of the fermenting stuff (?) inside the glass container, which made me even more fearful.  But, with that first careful sip, I realized kombucha isn’t scary at all.  In fact, it’s kind of good.  Who would have thought that fermented liquid, which tastes like sour, lemony ginger ale and smells like vinegar would be so appealing to ones palate?

Sure, it was a little bit scary.  But, it’s also a whole lot tasty.

Well, except for the strands of (good) bacteria swimming in the elixir; that was, understandably, a bit off-putting. 

Consider me a kombucha believer.

In other news, Caroline is still sick.

But, on the bright side, her friend picked up her Spanish camp work, so she is now the proud owner of a necklace that says “Me llamo Caroline.”

I’m pretty sure I’m taking Caroline back to the doctor tomorrow.  Unless, of course, a miracle takes place later on.  I keep hoping for that miracle, but it looks like we’ll be doing things the old-fashioned (hard) way.  Apparently no one has gotten the memo in which I eschew doing things the hard way.  Hrmph.

I tried to keep Caroline busy by clipping coupons for me, but she got bored half way through.

If you’re a fan of the coupons like yours truly, the Target website has tons of printables.  Of course, most must be redeemed at Target, but that doesn’t seem like much of a problem to me. 

I plan to redeem most of them next week when I have some free time in the evenings. Caroline is  scheduled to attend soccer camp from 5-8pm every day next week.  Assuming she’s fully healed from Random Unexplained Epically Long Summer Illness of 2011, that is.

Man, I hope she’s better.

For if she isn’t, I’m going to need something a lot stronger than kombucha to get me through.

2 responses

  1. You should. The link for the coupons is way down near the bottom of the page in small writing. Underneath “Target Stores” and near company information, etc. They even had one for $5 off a Mossimo denim item. Coupons are fun!

Yo.

