Sunny Flowers + Stormy Weekend

 

My sweet neighbor brought me flowers the other day.


Gerber daisies are my favorite.

Especially orange gerber daisies.

I wonder how she knew?

Yes, I said, SHE.  Don’t worry, I don’t have a secret admirer.  Bummer  My neighbor, Karen, is in the Air Force and works with family support.  She was in a conference about deployments and how families deal with the stress of it all and thought of me.

And she brought me some lovely orange flowers.

 

Wasn’t that thoughtful?

 

 

Reason #1,579 I love my neighborhood.

 

In other news, Hurricane Irene blew through yesterday.  I kind of like rainy days, so I didn’t mind the wind and rain at all.  Now, if the power had gone out, I definitely wouldn’t have enjoyed it as much, but since we were fully powered and my unhealthy dependence on electronic devices wasn’t hindered one bit, yesterday was a good day.  Caroline and friends played in the rain for a bit, collecting as much Irene water as they could.  The last big storm to blow through these parts was Hurricane Isabel, back in 2003.  We lived in Maryland then.  I remember that storm; that time our power went out, which wasn’t much fun at all.  I also remember going to Target the day after just to get out of the house.  The roads were a mess and the power at Target was only half on, but that didn’t deter me at all.

In more other news, we don’t have any hot water.

My landlord must be getting tired of me.  Between dripping ceilings, leaky showers, a broken garbage disposal and a dishwasher that didn’t drain properly, he’s been here quite a bit lately.  And now we don’t have hot water.  But, to be honest, I’m not that bothered by it.  At least we have running water ….. and electricity.

Sure, cold showers aren’t my favorite, but I’d much rather have a cold shower than no shower at all.

Oh well, at least I have pretty flowers to admire.

UPDATE: my landlord came by; the pilot light was out; it’s on now.  Hooray!

8 responses

  1. Glad to here you weren’t affected much by Irene. My mom in NJ has a few limbs down and the rivers are filled to brim with water, but they didn’t lose power either. And I too, use Target as a way to get out of the house. It’s my Tiffany’s.

    • I’m glad your mom is okay. I know the weather people get overly excited and tend to hype things up a bit; they really had people scared. I guess it’s better to be safe than sorry.
      Target is definitely my Tiffanys, too.

    • I must agree, they are pretty. I have a thing for orange flowers….I must be channeling my inner Ina Garten, who always uses orange flowers on The Barefoot Contessa.
      Speaking of Ina Garten….how did your ‘baking’ go?

    • Yo, and stuff.
      I think I’m going on an ice cream fast for the month of September. Guess that means I should eat up the carten of pb cup I have in the freezer. 🙂

  2. What a sweet neighbor! You know we take so much for granted. I hope you’re getting along ok without Craig. How rude of me to have not even asked about him (or you and Caroline for that matter!!!!). Now when my husband is gone I throw a party!!! hee hee hee, not really but I DO enjoy the peace and being able to watch what I want on TV 🙂

    • Oh believe me, I enjoy the peace and quiet, too. And being able to watch what I want on tv….well, except for when Caroline is awake because then she’s in charge.
      Sure I miss him, but I’m a-ok when it comes to being alone. I have the right personality for it. You know, the people intolerant type, much like YOUR sister. 🙂

      Craig’s doing okay. He’s BUSY. He says he’s actually earning his pay this time. He’ll come home with a crud load of experience, that’s for sure.

Yo.

