The Most Wonderful Time of the Year

Why yes, back to school time IS the most wonderful time of the year.

So wonderful, in fact, that I can hardly contain my ear-to-ear  grin.  I think I might even have pudding face.

As tradition would have it, we walked to the school yesterday, sharply at 12 noon, to find out who Caroline’s teacher will be this year.  Naturally, we had hoped for one specific teacher, and naturally, Caroline didn’t get her.  But that’s okay.  After a brief moment of disappointment, we decided to be happy with the teacher she was given.  Besides, someone might know something we don’t know and this could be the best year ever.

I sure hope it is.

My fourth grade teacher was a dinosaur of a man.  I’m not even exaggerating when I say he was old.  And not like in the dumb way kids think 30 year olds are old.  I mean, this guy was OLD.

It wasn’t my best year ever.

Caroline’s teacher this year is a man (like last year) but he’s not old.  He’s probably younger than me.  I have a feeling all the girls will have a crush on him at some point during the year.

We went to open house this afternoon to meet Mr. Carmack and to say hello to friends and former teachers. Caroline was happy to socialize and I was just plain happy.  Because school is starting!

School!

On Tuesday!

There aren’t enough exclamation marks in the world to punctuate my excitement over this fact.

I’m sure some mother of the year hopefuls out there are shaking their heads at my pleasure over getting rid of my child for 7.5 hours a day, but I don’t care.  This has been the longest summer ever.  Between the financial toll (extra meals and copious snacks for all of Caroline’s friends) and the physical/emotional toll, I’m ready for a little break.  For instance, there are at least five other children in my house right now, eating a snack and probably plotting something evil.  Earlier, Caroline and two friends brought another neighbor’s dog in our house who, despite being the cutest western terrier ever, proceeded to poop on my carpet.

Dog poop on my carpet.

And I won’t even discuss the stale smell of dog wafting through my house.

I cannot wait for Tuesday.

That is all.

5 responses

    • Thanks, Amy. I hope Caroline has a good 4th grade year, too. Her school is really wonderful and her teacher seems very nice. Our neighbor had him two years ago when he taught 5th grade and she didn’t have a great year, because there were a lot of disruptive students in that class, which made his job a zillion times tougher. I’m sure you can attest that it’s hard to have a classroom conducive to learning when you’re constantly trying to deal with problem kids.
      You teachers are awesome!

  1. It’s the most wonderful tiiiiime of the year!” Sing it, Andy Williams!
    Whoopee! Hooray! Yee-haw! Cool beans! Hallelujah! Woot woot!
    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Yo.

