That’s a Whole Lotta Years

source

Today is our 15th anniversary.

Nineteen year old me in my stupid blue dress and stupid big hair and twenty four (twenty five?) year old Craig with his Elvis side burns and actual hair atop his head (he blames me for the hair loss, by the way), stood in his parent’s living room and sealed the deal.  It wasn’t romantic.  It wasn’t special.  It just was.

Five days later, Craig shipped off to start stint #2 in the Army.  And life just sort of went on.

If you know me in real life, or have been reading this blog for any length of time, you know that I don’t do sappy stuff.  Which, would explain our ‘wedding’ or lack thereof.  You may laugh and roll your eyes and feel pity for my lack of mushiness, but this non-sappy gene has served me quite well, considering Craig has missed more than a handful of our previous anniversaries.

That’s Army life for you.

So, today is our anniversary.  Craig is bogged down with work that is far more important than my latest obsession with finding new running capris,  but I did send him a card.  Although, it wasn’t an actual anniversary card because all that were offered in the card aisle were either too mushy, too stupid or just not applicable.  So, I bought one with smiley faces on it and wrote loving, encouraging words.  Or not.  Actually, I don’t remember what I wrote, but I did include a $15 itunes gift card.  I figure he’s earned a buck a year putting up with me and my stuff.  The time I threw the remote control at him is worth at least three of those dollars.  Hmmm, maybe I should have sent more money?   You know, to make up for the time I called him a bastard on the Mt. Vernon Trail during our 20 mile training run.  Dealing with my hot headedness alone warrants at least a $50 itunes card, don’t you think?

Wait….he just bought himself a new Garmin GPS.  I think we’re even.  😉

In our usual low-key fashion, we’ve never really taken the time to actually celebrate our anniversary.  The past two years we brought Caroline to dinner with us!  I suppose your 15th anniversary is the one to celebrate, but that’s not really possible right now.   Craig and I dream of one day going away and doing something fun, but it’s kind of hard when you can’t just send your kid to Grandma’s for the weekend.  Maybe someday.

When Caroline is in college.

Anyway, today is just another day.  But I figured I should take the time to wish my long-suffering husband a happy anniversary.  He’s endured a lot.   Sure, he may not have yet learned to leave my chocolate alone but he does humor me and usually waits until one box of cereal is finished before he opens another.

What more can a girl ask for?

Happy anniversary, Craig!

source

4 responses

Yo.

