Honor Flight

As I mentioned in previous posts, Caroline and I had the privilege of meeting up with my mom and many World War II veterans, who flew up from Florida for the day, courtesy of Honorflight.org.   They flew in to Dulles, took a bus to DC and had the opportunity to see many of the city’s war memorials and monuments.  Of course, the main attraction was the World War II memorial.  It was very interesting watching the veterans take in the monument.  They may be old and frail, but I’m sure their memories of the times they spent in combat, serving their country, are still crystal clear.

It was grey and drizzling when the buses arrived, but towards the end, the sun came out.  Somehow, I don’t think the weather dampened their spirits at all.  What an incredible opportunity to honor our nation’s greatest generation.

Anyway, instead of me blabbing on and on, as I’m apt to do,  I’ll let the pictures do the talking.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 responses

  1. You’re such a good photographer! My editor is adding the link to your blog and these photos to my story. So, you may get a million or so hits to your blog tomorrow. Or maybe 5.
    🙂

  2. Cool! Five more hits will make it an even 15 for the day!
    Did you type in NK instead of Mom? IDK. I’m stoopid with this computer stuff. Oh, and fourth grade math. But I don’t want to talk about it. 😉

Yo.

