I Hate When I Can’t Enjoy a Gloomy Day

It’s wet, rainy, cloudy and gloomy today.  Most find this depressing; I find it incredibly enjoyable.  However, today, I’m not enjoying this glorious gloominess.  I’m not enjoying it because I have a half marathon to run tomorrow and while the weather report predicts there won’t be rain in the morning, I’m highly suspicious of that ‘prediction.’  You know how accurate those weatherdudes are.

Sigh.

Big, big sigh.

Soccer was canceled.  Not because of the rain, but because someone drove a vehicle over the rain saturated field Caroline’s division plays on and left horrible tire tracks.  So, the field is closed.  The league reworked the schedule, and gave us a 4pm game time on another field, but four of our players cannot make the rescheduled game, therefore, the game was canceled and will be played at a later date.  The girls like mud match soccer, but I”m kind of glad the game was postponed.  I like rain much more when I’m not IN it.

Since the game was canceled, Caroline and I had plenty of time to head out to the National Harbor to pick up my race packet for tomorrow’s half marathon.  Lucky us, we got to stand in the rain in a line that wrapped around the building.  The whole time the people in line kept hoping, wishing and praying that the weather would be better tomorrow.

Sometimes I don’t know why I sign myself up for these things.

Running 13.1 miles always sounds like a better idea months before the actual race date.

I’ve run the distance before.  Many times.  I’ve run twice the distance, in fact.  So, I know what to expect and I know I can complete it.  I just have the tendency to second guess myself.

Why is it the day before a race your legs feel like lead and when you jog back to your car to retrieve your parking pass, it feels like you couldn’t possible even make it 10 yards?

It’s a wonderful gloomy day and I’m sitting in my house like a big old lump, fretting about things I cannot control.  Heh, the more I think about it, that’s pretty normal around here.  No matter the weather, I can always find time to worry about something.

Except when it’s cloudy and rainy, I (usually) fret with a smile on my face.

In other news, I’m testing my suspicions that candy corn makes for perfect pre-run fuel.  I’ll let you know if my theory pans out.

8 responses

  1. Oh, I know exactly what you mean about randomly jogging for only a smidge of a distance and feeling super slow or tired. Just yesterday I accidently left my phone at home. I realized it before I left for work, but I was already in the car. Cue me jogging 20 feet to my apartment and feeling winded. Yet today I ran 8 miles, no problem. What’s up with that?

    Good luck at your half tomorrow. I’ll cross my fingers that you get clear skies!*

Yo.

