The Verdict Is In

Yesterday I set out to prove my hypothesis that candy corn makes for excellent pre-run fuel.


Sugary, cloyingly sweet candy corn; one of my favorite fall treats.   I once had a successful springtime run that was fueled by the previous night’s rather unjudicious indulgence in jelly beans.

Math isn’t my strong suit, but candy is, so I put two and two together and came up with the theory that a few handfuls of candy corn would effectively fuel myself for today’s Wilson Bridge Half Marathon.

I’m not one to toot my horn, but  toot-toot-toot-toot-toooooot  the verdict is in:


My finger was a bit trigger happy at the finish (I so wanted for it to be over) and my official time is 1:54:13.  This is six minutes and five seconds faster than my previous half marathon in March!

Words cannot accurately describe how happy and relieved I am to have broken the two hour mark (my one and only goal) and shaved so much time off my personal record.  Again, I don’t want to brag, because that’s not like me.  Every runner runs at their own pace and that is all that matters.  I *try* not to get caught up in numbers because it’s super stressful and kind of takes the joy out of racing, but I’m hard on myself and I knew that if I hadn’t broken two hours I would have been very disappointed in myself.

To say that this morning’s race was a great one, is an understatement.  I left off yesterday  in major freak out mode because I knew the weather wasn’t going to be ideal racing conditions.  It was cold this morning, but not too terribly so.  There was a bit of drizzle, but it was short lived.  The course was great; I didn’t even think about the part where we were running on a bridge over water (bridges kind of freak me out) and, to top it off, we saw a beautiful rainbow.

It wasn’t all puppies and rainbows, however; the end was tough.  We were met with a steep climb on an overpass near National Harbor, around the 11 mile mark, which was a cruel joke.   I started talking to another runner right before the 12 mile mark which made the next half mile much more bearable.  She took off because she was intent on beating her husband and I somehow made it to the end.  I was never so happy to see a finish line.  Also, I was never so happy to eat a bagel.  It was seriously the best bagel ever.  Ilovefood.

National Harbor is really neat; it’s filled with tons of nice shops and restaurants.  On a clear day, the view is spectacular.  However, we have never been there on a good weather day.  The first time we went, the wind was whipping like crazy.  Yesterday it was wet and windy; today is was windy and freezing.  I wonder if it has something to do with being right on the Potomac?  One day we’ll go on a pleasant weather day.  Whatever the cause of the crazy breeze, my lips turned purple once I crossed the finish line and didn’t come back to their normal color until after my pal Mandy gave me some hot coffee when I went to pick up Caroline.

My body is sore and I’m super tired (3:45 wake up call); despite all that, I’m over the moon excited about my race.

God bless hard work  candy corn!

8 responses

  1. Great job on your race!!! Congrats on shaving off so much time–that is HARD but I totally agree on the sugar rush–helps me too!
    I am happy to see that your Garmin registered it as 13.27 miles–mine said 13.25 and while I know there’s discrepancy with the GPS and not running in a straight line, it sure can be annoying to have your watch beep much before the mile markers.

    • I didn’t weave too much at all so I was surprised by how off it was. I overheard someone say theirs was perfectly on target until the last mile or so. Maybe I’m just crooked?

      I hope you had a good race, too. I’m so glad the weather cooperated.

      🙂

  2. Congrats on such a great race! And i love that you fueled with candy corn! They were handing out chocolate at my first marathon and I was really skeptical until I downed some in desperation. It worked great! Great job!!

    • Thanks!
      I’m such a sugar junkie but it’s funny how by the end of the race all I want is salt. They handed out chocolate at my marathon, too, but I couldn’t stomach the thought. All I wanted was french fries and diet coke! 🙂

Yo.

