So, I Forgot To Mention…..

So, I forgot to mention that Craig accepted a new position for when he returns from Afghanistan next summer.  We had been mulling over choices for quite some time; you’d think having options is a good thing, but in reality, having options only makes it harder to make a solid decision. Usually in the military you get little say in where you’ll be stationed, however, when you do back-to-back deployments, the branch managers (the ones who dish out the assignments) have a little pity on you.  For the better portion of this year we thought we’d stay in Northern Virginia.  We love Caroline’s school.  We love our neighborhood.  I love my gym.  The running scene is top notch. Life is good here.  Traffic is bad, but life is good.

When it came down to it, Craig’s branch manager opined that staying here would be a dead end, career-wise.  Whether that is true or not remains to be seen, but while we wanted to stay put, for the sheer ease of it all, the option of moving to a new duty station still hung over our heads.

After months and months of thinking and debating and putting it off, the final decision happened quite quickly.  Craig was offered something and within a day he accepted it.  Just like that.

Now…..the big question is:  where are we moving?

Before I blab it, I’ll give you a hint.

If you’ll remember during Snowpocalypse I and II back in February 2010, I left a not so cryptic message in the snow.  It went something like this:

In case you can’t read my snow writing….it says ‘snow blows, Alison wants to move to Hawaii.’

Yep.  We’re moving to Hawaii.

Craig is ecstatic.  If he could do cartwheels, I think he would.  We spent three years in Hawaii before Caroline was born and have been itching to go back ever since we left in 2001.  I’m happy about the destination, but am not ready to do cartwheels quite yet.  Caroline and I have had an opportunity to establish roots here.  By the time we pack up and leave next summer, we’ll have lived here for four years; that’s practically an eternity in military speak.   It’s going to be REALLY HARD to leave.  I’m excited about the opportunity to live in Hawaii again, but no amount of Dole Whip and cool island breezes will take away the fact that we’re leaving behind a great neighborhood, a fabulous school and an incredible city.

The good news is that we still have ten months left in Virginia.  Ten months to enjoy fall, winter and spring.  Changing leaves and budding trees.  I have ten months to get my fill of my favorite classes at the gym and to run a few more races.  We have ten months to enjoy our friends and make the most of the time we have left here.

So, when I’m shoveling snow in January and complaining like a big whiny baby, please remind that I need to savor every last moment of time left in Virginia.  Even when I’m knee deep in snow and too cold to be rational.

4 responses

  1. Say what?! That’s exciting! I’ve only heard good things about Hawaii, but if you’ve already lived there, then you already know.

    The whole moving process plus leaving a place where you have roots will be hard. Probably really hard for Caroline, I’d imagine. At least you’ll be leaving for somewhere fun.*

    • Oh, it really is a great place to live. I HIGHLY recommend it. If it weren’t for the fact that we’ll be leaving behind great friends, coupled with the fact that the schools aren’t that great in Hawaii, I’d be jumping for joy. Also, when we first lived there, Hawaii didn’t have Target….but now they have TWO on Oahu. Whew! You have no idea how relieved this makes me. 🙂

  2. I’m thrilled for you, but all I’m saying is I’d better get to see you again before you are half way around the world instead of just five hours away. Totally.

    • We’re planning another trip to NC at Christmas to see Laura. So long as no one gets sick, I’ll make a plan to swing by and visit.

      PS– sorry you’re having a rough day. 😦

Yo.

