Regrets…I’ve Had A Few

Everyone has regrets, right?  No one makes good choices all the time; doing regretful things is part of life.  I suppose if we didn’t have free will and didn’t live in a free country, we might have fewer regrets, but, quite thankfully, we are free.  Which means we’re free to live as we choose and free to say and do stupid things, which we’ll probably regret later.  Examples 1-456:  young Hollywood actors/actresses and their brushes with the law.

I have no intention of turning this in to a deep post because honestly, I really don’t want to rehash the decisions I’ve made which have left me feeling regretful.  They’re called regrets for a reason, right?  No need re-live history.  Anyway, the idea for this post came to me as I was cleaning up spilled soup for the second time in two weeks, while singing Frank Sinatra’s song ‘My Way.’  Except I don’t know all the words, but I do know the first line by heart:  “Regrets…..I’ve had a few.”

So, without further ado, I give you a bulleted list of the things I’m currently regretting:

  • I regret opening the bag of baked Cheetos I had in the pantry.  I’m okay with the Cheetos dust on my fingers, but I’m not okay with eating nearly half the bag in one sitting.
  • I regret buying the value sized bag of candy corn.  Value sized bags of candy corn + giant man hand sized handfuls = Alison in a sugar coma.  On more than one occasion.
  • I regret eating soup at the computer.  Last week, I dumped an entire bowl of hot soup on my lap.  Two days ago I dumped an entire bowl of soup on my computer’s key board.  It dripped down to the printer, too.  The force from the bowl knocked the backspace key and the +/= key completely off of the keyboard and now the backspace key sticks.
  • I regret that I’m an idiot.  An idiot who spills soup on herself (and her expensive electronics) twice in two weeks.
    I regret not using Google Reader to read blogs sooner.  How did I live so long without it?
  • I regret that I did not sign up for this year’s Marine Corps Marathon.  At the time of registration this spring, I was in no mood to run another marathon and figured I’d run it in 2012 or 2013.  Except now we won’t be here in 2012 or 2013.  Or 2014.  Hindsight is 20/20.  Blah.
  • I regret that this is all I could come up with for a blog post.

Here’s hoping I get some inspiration soon.  Because other wise, the only one with regrets will be YOU.  For coming over here to read what I’ve written defiled the internet with.

Time to get Caroline from school and to visit the school’s book fair.  I hope I don’t regret bringing the debit card with me!

2 responses

  1. Are you always a messy eater? When I’m at home, I eat quite messily! I end up with dribbles and spills all over myself. Attractive, I know.

    I am so addicted to my google reader! I also regret not getting into it sooner.*

    • Yep, I’m pretty messy. And clumsy (clumbsy?). I always splash stuff on my shirt. How I managed to dump to bowls of soup, I’ll never know. I just really need to stay away from the computer while eating.

      I love Google Reader!

Yo.

