Snow-tober

Big, fat flakes!

We were mostly drenched with rain yesterday, but in the afternoon, we were greeted with snowflakes.

Naturally, Caroline was on cloud nine; I thought it was kind of cool too, but mostly because there wasn’t any accumulation.  Snow is only fun when you don’t have to shovel it.

The flakes didn’t last long and I’m sure there will be more to come this winter, but we enjoyed the snowy distraction.  Today, the sun is shining; I’m still hunkered down inside because it’s cold out there.  And also, I have nothing else to do.

Don’t worry, I’ve been spending my inside time wisely by shampooing the living room carpet and making frosted sugar cookies for the post-Pumpkinology party in Caroline’s class tomorrow.  Except, I’m not sure they’re allowed to call it a party.  Evidently, you can only have two parties per year….any other ‘parties’ are called ‘celebrations’ or something dumb like that.


Anyway, whatever you call it, party, celebration, hoe down or gala, I was put in charge of the sweet treat, which is fine with me.

I used this soft frosted sugar cookie recipe.  And now that I  just re-read the recipe, I think I over baked my cookies.  Oopsie.

They look good, though.

Thankfully, kids don’t care much.  I hope?

I’ll just be sure to keep a slice of bread in the container over night to make sure the cookies don’t dry out.  Have you ever used the bread trick?  I’m not sure where I learned it, but if you keep a slice of bread in your cookie container, they stay soft.

Happy Sunday!

6 responses

  1. I thought it was an apple that keeps things moist. Or maybe that’s for brown sugar.
    Mmmmm….brown sugar.
    In totally random and unrelated non-news:
    I bought a Honeycrisp apple today that weighs almost 1 1/2 pounds! And it wasn’t even the biggest one in the bin. And I found gingerbread mix, thanks to Mr. Duncan Hines.

    Happy Celebration of Candy and All that is Evil Day! I got Reeses Peanutbutter Cups for my no-show trick or treaters.

  2. Apple for brown sugar. It may work for cookies, too? Glad you found a Gingerbread mix. That’s a big apple. I bought mind/dark chocolate Three Muskateers and M&Ms for the trick or treaters. This is choppy. That is all.

  3. Only two parties a year? Since I teach middle school, we don’t do any parties, but the whole thing sounds so silly! We have some goofy rules like that, too. “No giving food to the students unless it’s part of a lesson.” I guess the idea behind that has something to do with childhood obesity, but for reals? Let me give a kid a lollypop if they do something bragworthy.

    I can honestly say that I’ve never shampooed the carpet before. Good for you. I spent my day watching 7 episodes of Army Wives. I could have kept on going, but I didn’t want to finish the entire season in one day. Otherwise, what will I do next weekend?*

Yo.

