Lady of the Kitchen Disaster

 

I’ve been baking all day today.  Happily coated in flour, with chocolate underneath my fingernails, baking for Craig’s hungry troops.  Since I’m new to the whole shipping baked goods overseas scene, I did a little research and learned that pound cake, because it’s dense and sturdy, ships very well.

So, I made pound cake.

Nutella Swirl Pound cake.

Looks good, right?

It DID look good; it looked great, in fact.  That is, however,  until I removed it from the pan.


Crash.  Thud.  Sigh.

And this was after I burned my first batch of biscotti.

Today has not been a good day.

We made an emergency trip to the grocery store for more butter and eggs.  I’m ready to tackle pound cake again tomorrow, but this time I’m going with something a bit more simple: vanilla.

I hope I’ll have better luck.

I may have had my share of disasters today, but at least my second batch of biscotti turned out better.


Also?  Some Snickers made an appearance in the kitchen today.

I’ll report back if it was a success.

4 responses

  1. Sounds like a rough day. You’re a brave woman to give it another go tomorrow! That cake looks deelish, so I’m sure it’ll be worth all the time and effort. Can’t wait to see what happens with the snickers!*

    • What a crazy day. Caroline went with her friends to their little sister’s soccer game and then went to play at their house afterwards, so from 11 am until 5pm, when she came home, all I did was bake and clean up my messes. I’m a messy baker. After two disasters, I sort of lost my pep….hopefully tomorrow will be more successful. I’m not sure I can handle any more problems.

  2. You can do it Alison!!! You could have sent it anyways and then blame it on the shipping 🙂 They won’t care! Will get with you this week on Turkey Day, whoop whoop!

    • Ha! You’re right, I should have blamed the post office. I’ll save that tip for next time. Thanks for the tip! I won’t bring pound cake to Thanksgiving dinner, I promise!

Yo.

