It Was Cake. It Wasn’t Tragic. It Didn’t Make Me Want To Sing.

Despite my deepest, most heartfelt protestation (that’s a word; I looked it up) November 17th rolled around and I turned 35 yesterday.  And it was like any other day.  ‘Cept now I’m older.  Blah.

I went to the gym.   I showered.  I forgot to bring a different pair of shoes, so I had to wear my running shoes after I changed.  Then I went to a brand new Dunkin Donuts for pumpkin coffee, but it was kind of cold and not nearly as tasty as the coffee my favorite lady at the DD in the Shopette on Fort Belvoir makes.  I’m really going to miss her.  With cold, yucky coffee in hand, I went to Safeway to get a new club card because I accidentally threw my old one away.  Don’t ask.  Then I walked around Homegoods and TJ Maxx, waiting until 12pm so I could meet my friends for lunch at Noodles and Company.

At 11:55 I stood outside the restaurant waiting for my two soccer mom/school friends, Debbie and Cris.  In the cold.  Without my jacket.  Hair flying everywhere.  At 12:05 I was still standing outside.  In the cold.  Without my jacket.  Hair flying everywhere.  I knew Debbie was driving and she’s NEVER late, so I began to worry.  Then I got a call on my phone.  It was Debbie asking where I was.

“I’m at Noodles and Co,” I said.

“So are we,” she replied.

They were inside the warm restaurant while I was waiting for them outside.  In the cold.  Without my jacket.  Hair flying everywhere.  Ha!

So, after we finally met up and ordered our food, we proceeded to eat and chat for two hours.  It was great.  I mean, we chat all the time at soccer practice and soccer games and basketball practice and basketball games and school functions and field trips, but to sit without interruption for two hours was wonderful.  We’re a crazy bunch; Debbie is the gregarious one from North Carolina; Cris is the quiet one from Wisconsin and I’m somewhere in the middle.

Once lunch was over, I continued my birthday celebration by getting a peppermint mocha at Starbucks.  It was really good.  But really sweet.  I don’t usually get espresso drinks, opting for the misto instead, but the mint and mocha was calling my name.  And when mint and mocha call your name, it’s best you answer.  Especially on your birthday.  After my mocha stop, I went to Trader Joes.  Because that’s where all the cool kids hang out on their birthdays.

I had yet to secure a jar of pumpkin butter and I felt the need to act quickly before it all ran out.  Thankfully there were many jars on the shelves.  Talk about potential birthday tragedy.  I bought some other things, as well, mostly to send to Craig, plus some cornbread mix, which one of the fourth grade teachers swears is the best ever.  We were in a meeting for Colonial Day preparations and one of the activities the kids will be doing is making butter, which they’ll eat with corn bread.  Mrs. Jackson opined quite adamantly that Trader Joes is the best, so that’s what I got.   I always do as I’m told.

Then I drove home.  And put my groceries away.  And read some blogs.

Then I picked Caroline up from school.

And after a while, we went to the Silver Diner for PTA night.  She ate macaroni and cheese and steamed veggies; I ate a tomato and mozzarella sandwich, which I had on my birthday last year.  This time I got french fries, which I shared with Caroline.  I think all birthday girls should have french fries.  Don’t you think that’s a good rule?

Once dinner was over and I did the word search on the back of the kid’s menu, we ordered dessert.  Because it was the right thing to do.  Chocolate milk shake for Caroline and red velvet cake with pumpkin cream cheese frosting for me.

The cake was good.  But not great.  I didn’t eat it all.  Which is probably a good thing.

It didn’t make me want to sing.  But it wasn’t as horrible as last year’s cake.

All in all, my birthday was a good day.  It wasn’t super exciting, but I wasn’t sick and we didn’t eat dinner on my bedroom floor.

I consider that a success.

6 responses

  1. That sounds like a good birthday! Birthdays lose a little “something” as we get older, don’t they? But a day that ends in cake is always a good day. Happy birthday, again!

    • You’re right, they do lose something. I’ve always been pretty dull, however, so all out birthday celebrations have never been a big part of my life. My sister,on the other hand, who is 28, spends like a whole week celebrating her birthday. Of course, she has a boyfriend, but no kids,and a large, fun group of friends. She’s always been the crazier one. AKA: I don’t drink, but she does. Ha!

      But in the end, cake is all that matters. 🙂

    • Thanks, Carrie! Glad to know it’s good. I bought two boxes for ‘Colonial Day’ and two boxes for my friend, who requested it, since she was at the meeting, too, but none for me and Caroline. I think I’ll have to go back and get some for us.

Yo.

