Operation: Avoid the Commissary

If there is one thing I’ve learned in my 15 years as a military wife, it is to avoid the commissary the week of Thanksgiving.  A few years ago I stood in the ‘express’ line for over an hour just to buy celery.  Can’t have cornbread stuffing without celery.

All grocery stores are naturally busy this week, but the commissary serves such a large group of people (especially in this  military dominated area), which makes this week down right unbearable.  So I stay away.

We went to Trader Joes, instead.

Again.  Because I just went on Thursday.

Caroline and I are lucky enough to have been invited to my friend’s house for Thanksgiving this year.  I’m so thankful Mandy lives nearby and has the gift of hospitality, otherwise, we would have had ourselves one very lame and lonely holiday, just Caroline and me.   I wouldn’t have made a whole spread for the two of us, especially since I don’t do turkey and Caroline doesn’t do mashed potatoes (what?!).  It would have been a meal of stuffing ,sweet potatoes, cranberry sauce, pumpkin pie and a side of pathetic. Oh, and a diabetic coma to top off the festivities.  However now that we, quite thankfully, have plans, we won’t have a lame OR pathetic holiday….but I can’t guarantee the lack of a diabetic coma.

We really like pie.

Anyhow, I’ve been tasked with dessert and a veggie tray.  I’m also making sweet potato casserole, because as I told Mandy, it’s basically my whole reason for living.  I’m making one pumpkin pie and this apple cheesecake, which I think I made before, but I can’t really remember.  Wait,  I did.  Hopefully this time it won’t rain ginger snap crumbs.

I managed to get most of what I needed at Trader Joe’s this morning, but I’ll have to make a stop at the grocery store near my gym on Tuesday.  That store is never busy; probably because it’s expensive.  But, this week, I’d much rather pay a few extra pennies for food than stand in line at the commissary for an hour.

Sometimes you have to pay for convenience.

And sanity.

4 responses

  1. Thanksgiving is more fun when it’s spent with more people. Yeay for spending it with your friend! I’m going to spend the day with my family and with my in-laws, but there will probably be a little bit of wallowing anyway. It’s not the same without the husband, but a hearty amount of pumpkin pie won’t hurt.*

    • If I have to do a big shop, I go as soon as I drop Caroline off at school. It’s usually kind of tame that early in the morning. I imagine the commissaries in Germany are extra busy because it’s probably the most affordable option for food.

Yo.

