So Maybe I Don’t Run For Chocolate

Holy crud. I just typed a huge post and it got lost in freaking cyber space.

I lost all my work.

I can’t retype it now, but I’ll say this:

1. I ran the Hot Chocolate 15k race yesterday.

2.  It was a hot mess.  (traffic, delayed start times, strange course)

3.  My feet didn’t thaw out for the first 3.5 miles.

4.  I love chocolate, but not after a race.

5.  Despite all the logistical problems, I ran a decent race.  My official time is  1:16:45 (8:14 pace).

And now I’m going to cry because I lost 1000 words of work.

Blah.

8 responses

  1. I’ve been seeing all of the negative Tweets and things about this race and it makes me feel so much better that I didn’t show up. I’ve never decided on the day not to run a race I signed up for, so I was kind of bummed, but no more. I can’t believe it was so bad and hope that the race organizers are able to figure out how to improve everything for next year. I even read somewhere that they were handing out jackets at the Expo from the Chicago race…ridiculous! Congrats on having such a speedy time, considering everything that was going against you! Great job!

  2. Thanks, Sarah. I’m sorry you’re not feeling well; you definitely shouldn’t feel bad about skipping the race. My friend and I arrived extra early and we had no problems getting to the race start but my friends from my gym got stuck in a huge traffic jam across the bridge. It was a boring course (4+ miles on a Maryland highway with nothing but orange cones separating us from traffic) and the hot chocolate at the end was gross. You should check out the comments on their Facebook page. Ouch. Also, the jackets are kind of lame.

    You were better off staying home.

    I hope your headache goes away.

    • Poop sandwich, indeed. I don’t know what happened, but I hit publish and nothing published. It gave me a case of the sads. I had so much to share, too. Like how I tried to throw my water cup in the garbage near a water station, missed, and nearly hit a spectator. Thankfully she had cat-like reflexes. 🙂

  3. Yeah, that was a disaster of a race–My friend and I parked at Belle Haven and ran to/from the race so traffic wasn’t an issue for us. However, it was NOT cool (cold?) waiting around for the start and after the race was over, we didn’t even go get our chocolate. Blah. However, I am pleased with my time for the distance (9.18 is what I clocked). Won’t be doing that again.

    • I was wondering if you were planning to run it. We parked at Rosecroft Raceway and had no problems….’cept for the waiting around for two hours. Too bad you didn’t get any chocolate, although I thought the hot chocolate was kind of gross and I didn’t have any fondue because it really didn’t appeal to me at the time. They just over sold for an area that could not handle that many people.

      I clocked a 9.15 miles on my Garmin, but aside from it being short and running on a boring highway, the course wasn’t horrible, although I wasn’t a fan of the uphill finish. Also, I was wondering if we’d end up on that overpass near NH that we ran during the Wilson Bridge Half (before running on to the gravel); it killed me during the half, but I had an easier time during the Hot Chocolate….perhaps because the mile before hand was almost all down hill. We won’t be here next year so it doesn’t matter, but it would take a lot of convincing to get me to do that race again.

    • If you’re going to miss a race, that was the one to miss. One of the (only) benefits of being there so early was that we were way up front in the corrals, so I didn’t have to deal with a major crowd of people. Some ladies from my gym (who are all faster than me) were in baggage check when the race started and were forced to the back of the pack, which slowed them down majorily.

Yo.

