Bonnet Girl

As I mentioned thirty seven times this week, the whole fourth grade at Caroline’s school conducted Colonial Day today.  Colonial Day helps bring to life what the fourth grade social studies curriculum focus on:  Virginia history.  As I’ve been reminded, Virginia history is American history; it all began at Jamestown.

Colonial Day really was quite an ordeal.  It was festive, celebratory and even informative.   Also, Colonial Day  involved bonnets

and fancy shoes

and curtsies!

Such a lady.

For a non-girly girl like Caroline, who vowed today to only wear a dress ONE more time in her life (on her wedding day), this was a big step for her.  It’s not everyday my running shoe wearing, dress hating, blue loving child dons a bonnet without complaint.

I don’t think she minded at all.  In fact, I think I detect a bit of a smile in these pictures.

I think I’ll hold on to these pictures for a while.  You never know when a mom might need to pull out embarrassing pictures of her bonnet wearing child.  It’s good to have an arsenal of ways to mortify ones child; it’ll make up for the time two year old Caroline stuck her hand down my shirt as we were waiting to board an airplane and yelled “boobies” as loud as can be.

Children are precious.

Anyway,  the day was filled with fun activities like making candles

and pomanders.

They feasted ( where Caroline discovered a love for gravy) and danced and played God Save the King on the recorder.

It was a jolly good time.

Jolly good, but tiring.  I’m beat and am looking forward to an early bedtime tonight.  Which will be downright necessary because basketball games start tomorrow and we have to be out the door at 8:20 am.

Lucky us.

2 responses

  1. Oh, I bought it. I do not sew. I can’t even sew a button on straight. There were probably 8-10 girls with the same outfit yesterday. There was also a brown variation of that dress with about 8-10 girls wearing it. Ha! Caroline’s teacher cracked me up. In lieu of tights and puffy pants, the boys wore long socks and sweat pants pulled up to their knees. Caroline’s teacher did the same, except his socks were Nike and they had the big swoosh near the front part of his ankle. Also, he was wearing sweatpants from the high school lacrosse team he coaches. 🙂

    Pomanders smell so good. Be not afraid. 😉

Yo.

