Ornament Talk

It’s no secret:  I love my Christmas ornament collection.   If my house were to ever catch on fire, after first shuttling humans to safety, I’d grab my make up bag next (priorities, yo) followed by my ornament collection.    Many of these ornaments help illustrate the story of our family; they’re irreplaceable and worth trying to rescue from a fiery blaze.

This year’s special ornament is one I bought at Disney World in January the day after Craig and I ran the Disney Marathon.


On the tree, this ornament is unintentionally placed next to our Hawaiian snowlady, which I thought was kind of funny, considering our impending move.   This isn’t a great picture of the Hawaiian snowlady because I didn’t intend to include her in the shot; I just happened to notice it when I was loading the pictures.  She’s in the corner, with what looks like a (fake)pine needle mustache.  Ha!

I’m particularly in love with this Disney ornament because it commemorates a huge accomplishment in my life.   Our trip to Disney was short (minus the time we spent running 26.2 miles….that took an eternity) but it’s something I will never forget.   I imagine 2012’s ornament will be Hawaiian themed, but I wouldn’t mind if Craig brought home something to commemorate his deployment time.  I’ve trained him well to bring ornaments home when he travels, but I’m not sure what the Afghani Christmas ornament selection looks like.

Those Mickey ears aren’t the only ornament I bought this year.  I can’t just stop at one.

I can’t even imagine why I bought that one.  😉

I grabbed this one in Charleston this summer.

Ah, there’s nothing like an ornament that symbolizes a vacation which was derailed due to a barfing kid.  Such memories.

This morning I found the cutest ornament for Caroline:

 source

I know it won’t be here in time for Christmas, but it was too cute to pass up.  It’ll find a prominent spot on the tree next year, for sure.

In other news, I finished up the last of my Christmas shopping today; I hitched a ride to Tysons Corner Mall with my friend, Mandy, which was a fun and different way to spend my morning.  On most weekdays, you’ll find me at the gym, being sweaty and gross and lifting heavy things and punching imaginary people,  but today I played hooky.  And you know what?   I kind of liked it!  I’d do it more often, but then we’d be broke because shopping malls make me want to spend money on things we don’t need.  It’s funny how you can leave your decorated home and well stocked closet feeling content with what you have, but as soon as you walk into the mall, you’re suddenly  left feeling like you don’t have enough or your things are ugly and you need to start all over from scratch.

Note to self:  go to the gym and stay out of the mall.  Your muscles and credit card will thank you.

I’ve found the only way to quell the monster of malcontent is to stop watching tv and to stay out of the stores and off of the internet.  But then what would I do?  Read a real book with paper pages?  Talk to real humans face-to-face?

That might be asking a little too much of me.

4 responses

  1. Um. Why would you get a Gabriella ornament?
    😉
    So, I’m planning a bbq rub for my $2.52 Butterball turkey and am mixing up the spices myself! Because I’m a big girl.
    (Yikes, this is random)
    Oh, I’m sure you’ll judge me harshly for the way I wrapped something in the Box O’ Stuff I sent you. It’s sans tape. There was a reason I did it tapeless, but I don’t remember why. It was kinda like a Martha Stewart moment I was having, although Martha would NEVER go tapeless.
    Oh well….

    • You know, I was going to include a portion of the post to say that Caroline’s name will be on it, with the correct year, but I didn’t want to insult anyone’s intelligence. Ha!
      We got your box of prizes and I actually really like your wrapping. It’s festive. Tape is over rated.

      Enjoy your spice rubbed cheap turkey. I don’t know what we’re eating for Christmas. Whatever Laura cooks, I guess. Ha!

Yo.

