“I Can’t Put My Arms Down”

There’s a kid in there somewhere; hidden underneath all that warm fuzzy fleece.

Baby, it’s cold outside.

Caroline is staunchly anti-jacket.  In fact, I’m pretty sure she’s a card carrying member of the Mom-do-I-HAVE-TO-wear-a-jacket club.  When she must wear one (aka I told her multiple times to just put a jacket on already) she opts for a turquoise hoodie.  She has a winter jacket, but it’s a few years old and a little too short.  I intended on buying her a new coat this fall, but once we learned we would be moving to Hawaii, I decided right then and there that I wouldn’t be buying any new winter apparel.  It just didn’t make much sense to spend a ton of money on a jacket she’d probably only wear a handful of times.  Why waste money on my child’s warmth and well being when I can spend those dollars on clearanced Christmas decorations and other junk I do not need?

This morning, however, with the wind chill factor dipping into the single digits, Caroline bundled up without protest.

She even put on her pink coat, which she claims makes her look like a marshmallow.  I’m not a fan of looking or feeling like a marshmallow, but when it’s cold, I throw all the (minimal) fashion sense I have out the window.  This morning, Caroline did the same.

She’s no dummy.

So, as I mentioned above, I bought clearanced Christmas items today.  I went to Walmart for pins to fasten the felt flowers to the wreath I’ve been working on.  The wreath that I still have to finish wrapping in yarn.

I made the flowers, though.

So, remember when this happened to my fall wreath of sadness?

I learned a hard lesson that wreaths with embellishments attached with hot glue do not stand a chance in the heat of the scorching mid-day sun.  Since I cannot make the sun shine in a direction other than the front of my house, I decided to add reinforcements to my hot glued felt roses.

Pins.

I didn’t take a picture, but they’re pretty hefty.  I think they’ll do the trick.

When I finish the wreath, I’ll post more pictures.  I’m pretty happy with how it’s turned out so far.

Anyway, as I said, I went to Walmart for pins, but I also came home with these metal Christmas trees:

They were only $2.61 a piece!

I haven’t a clue as to what I’ll do with them, but I felt compelled to purchase them; I always do as I’m compelled.  And also, there is something in my genetic makeup which prevents me from passing up 75% off metal Christmas trees and the like.

God bless the clearance rack.  For it makes my pitiful life worth living.

Amen.

2 responses

  1. I’m glad you’re giving wreath-making another go. I’m excited to see the yarn wreath in all it’s glory!

    I had a puffy, pink winter coach when I was in elementary school. I hated it! I have vivid memories of the recess monitor yelling at me while I was wearing it, and the whole time I was thinking, “I look so dumb in this coat.” Y’all stay warm!*

    • We have a 13 year old neighbor who is in that very vain stage of life (ugh, being a teenager is horrible, isn’t it?) and refused to wear her perfectly good winter coat she because she thinks it makes her look fat. I was talking with her mom and she was like, I don’t know why I’m giving in to this, but I’m buying her a new coat.

      No one wants to look puffy, I guess.

Yo.

