My, What Big Doughnuts You Have

A local grocery store around here sells “colossal” doughnuts.

They’re seriously huge.  I mean, the name ‘colossal’ says it all.  They’re at least twice the size of a standard Krispy Kreme doughnut.

My hurried pictures really don’t do their size justice.  Just believe when I say they’re big.

This morning I bought 30 colossal doughnuts for Caroline to share with her classmates and teachers. Her birthday is Saturday, but we’re heading to Great Wolf Lodge tomorrow after Caroline’s morning math test, so we chose to bring in birthday treats today.  Usually we bring in cupcakes for her birthday treat, but lately the trend has been for kids to eschew tradition and bring in doughnuts instead.  Since we always do our best to keep up with the current trends, Caroline chose to offer doughnuts, as well.  As much as I love baking, I don’t LOVE making cupcakes, mostly because making frosting can be a messy task, so I was more than happy to oblige her desire.

But, per Caroline’s request, the ordinary offerings from  Krispy Kreme or Dunkin Donuts simply would not do.  According to reliable sources (aka Daniel Peterson) colossal doughnuts are the only acceptable doughnut choice.  Unless, of course, you bring in enough of the smaller doughnut varieties so that each child can have two.  Um, no thanks.

We’ll stick with the colossals.

Especially colossal doughnuts with sprinkles.


Lots and lots of sprinkles.

Plus a few sprinkle-free doughnuts for the anti-sprinkle population. Gotta keep the masses happy.

The store even had doughnuts with M&Ms on them.  And some with Fruity Pebbles or Frosted Flakes sprinkled on top.

Blech.

Anyway, I took the doughnuts (sans candy and sugary cereal toppings) to school at lunch time and was practically attacked by some very doughnut hungry fourth graders.  But, because I’m a big meanie, I made them eat most of their lunch before we began handing out the sprinkle laced sugar bombs.   Ha!  One of the boys, Ben, inhaled his doughnut in less than two minutes because he’s the class doughnut eating champion and was unwilling to relinquish his title to Daniel, the class doughnut eating runner up.  I told Ben his mom must be very proud of his doughnut  eating achievements, to which he replied, ‘nope, not really.’  Ha!

As usual, I brought my camera, but forgot to take pictures.  I seriously suck at this blogger thing, don’t I?  But, in all fairness, I was too busy shooing away sticky faced children who wanted a second doughnut.  Now, I can pack in some food, but I’m not sure I could handle two colossal doughnuts in one sitting.

Just another reason why being a kid is way better than being an adult.

As I said earlier, in lieu of the usual birthday party/sleepover we’re going to Great Wolf Lodge, an indoor water park/hotel in Williamsburg, for a couple of nights to celebrate Caroline’s 10th birthday.  Craig seems to be on the mend, which is nice.  My car, however, is still being serviced as I type this.  I hope it’s done soon; it’s our ride to Williamsburg.

I guess I shouldn’t be surprised, though.  I haven’t exactly had much luck with cars and road trips lately.

Hopefully my car will be ready soon and we’ll break the streak of tragic road trip events.

Flat tires and sickness be gone!

4 responses

  1. Where did you get those donuts from? Emily wants them 🙂 Have a great time at Great Wolf and tell her a big Happy Birthday from us!!! Her present awaits her return.

    • We get them at Shoppers. There’s one over your way off of Richmond Hwy in that shopping center with Michaels, Home Depot, Five Below.

      Thanks for the well wishes….we’ll see you next week for dinner! 🙂

  2. Ack! Now I am craving donuts! These look deelish!

    Great Wolf sounds like a fun place for a birthday. I can’t even remember what I did for my 10th birthday. Great Wolf, however, I’m sure will be memorable!*

    • I can’t eat doughnuts, because I’m old and they give me heartburn, but those smelled SO good. I was tempted to forget about heartburn and eat one, but I stayed strong.

      I don’t remember my 10th birthday being super exciting, but I hope Caroline has a good time this weekend, especially since we’re not doing a party.

Yo.

