Birthday Blues

Today is Craig’s birthday.  And today on his birthday, he’s stuck in Kuwait waiting for a flight back to his base in Afghanistan.  He left on Tuesday and he still isn’t all the way ‘home.’    I’m honestly semi-afraid he’s going to go postal if he doesn’t get a flight soon.

There’s only so much a person can take.     I fear his tipping point is nearing.

And to make matters worse, I’m a lazy, selfish, thoughtless human being and I did not get Craig a birthday present.   Actually, I’ve been too busy blowing my nose and wallowing in self pity to even begin to think of an appropriate gift to give him.  Thankfully, he doesn’t seem to mind; he’s used to my lazy, selfish, thoughtless ways.

I think we’re both in a funk of doom, gloom and malaise.  R&R beat us down.  I’m still blowing my nose and have yet to reach the point where I actually can say I feel normal.  I’m getting there, but it’s taking a long time.  That’s what happens when you get old, I guess; you just don’t bounce back as quickly.  The fact that Craig is 41 today has hit ME pretty hard.  How is it that we’re getting so old?  I mean, I have a few good years left in me (aka before I hit 40), but it nearly kills me that the guy who was 24 when we met, is now 41.  Time, please slow down.

As I mentioned above, I’m in a funk of doom, gloom and malaise, which has left me plenty of time to ponder the cruelties of life.    We wait our whole childhood to be adults and when we’re finally there, time flies so quickly that before we know it, we’re old.  But not before our bodies start to fall apart.  We droop and sag; we gain things we didn’t want to gain and lose things we’d like to keep.  If that’s not depressing, I don’t know what is.

Gee, do you think I should try to get a job as a greeting card writer for Hallmark?  I’ll start the ‘Cruelties of Life’ collection:  life is short and painful and then you die.

Happy birthday, Craig!  I hope you get a flight soon.  If not, we’ll go postal together!

4 responses

  1. Rough day. I hope your gloomy feelings start to clear up. Birthdays can be tough.

    It sucks that Craig is stuck in Kuwait. One of Stephen’s buddies was there for more than two weeks not too long ago. I’m crossing my fingers that Craig isn’t there much longer and that he is still able to enjoy his bday.*

    • Two weeks! Yikes. Snow in Afghanistan is the culprit for the first few days of delay, but now he keeps getting bumped. Thankfully Craig is pretty good natured….but there’s only so much one can take. At least the food in Kuwait is pretty good! 🙂

Yo.

