In a Mood

Well, wasn’t I in a mood last night?

Let’s be honest, here:  I’m certainly no princess sparkle pony.   I’m not an optimist and the glass is most certainly half empty.  But, on the other hand, I’m not a grump.  Well, not usually.  Grammar mistakes may set me off, but in general, I’m pretty good-natured.  Pessimistically good-natured.  I’d like to think last night’s rant was atypical, but who knows?  The truth is, a lot of stuff bugs me.

That means I care, right?

If I didn’t care, if I lived my life in an ambivalent haze, I wouldn’t get so fired up.  I’m not sure what’s worse:  having a short fuse or not caring at all?   All I can say is it’s a good thing I don’t discuss politics on this blog because then you’d read nothing but rants.  The misuse of your/you’re doesn’t even hold a candle to the rage I feel on a daily basis during this presidential election season.  Sometimes I yell at the tv and Caroline’s is all ‘um, mom, who are you talking to?”

I suppose I’ll stick to baking and chattering on about useless nonsense, with the occasional grammar rant thrown in for some excitement.

I don’t really have anything interesting to report today, but I did want to let you know that I’m not really proud of the Facebook/grammar rant I went on last night.  Sometimes a girl has to vent and sadly, you’re the recipients of my ranting.   Lucky you.

I suppose since it’s Thursday I could do one of those Thankful Thursday or Three Things Thursday memes.  Since I’ve made it abundantly clear that I’m in a ranting mood and not a thankful mood, let’s go with Three Things Thursday.

1.  I thought I bought two bags of Dove promises candy at the commissary today.  I remember holding the bags in my hand and I thought I put them in my cart, but evidently I did not.  I even redeemed a $1.00/2 bags of candy coupon with my phantom purchase.  Oops.  I hope the cashier doesn’t get in trouble; I honestly thought I bought them.  I’m appropriately saddened by this course of events.

2.  I made hippie vegan soup which I’ve been eating for several nights on end.  I made a lot of soup.  It’s good though…kale, quinoa and kidney beans in a spicy vegetable broth.  Of course, I dump cheese on top of the hot soup each night which renders it non vegan, but I’m not a vegan, so I’m not that worried about it.  The healthy soup kind of makes up for all the chocolate chip cookies I’ve been eating.  Right?  That’s what I’m telling myself.

3. Tomorrow I’m embarking on a long run in an attempt to at least look prepared for next month’s half marathon.  Needless to say, it has been a while since I’ve exceeded the six mile mark, so we’ll see how it goes.  I hope hippie vegan soup works well as pre-run fuel!

6 responses

    • My hippie vegan soup was really good! I just threw stuff in a pot and hoped for the best, which is pretty much how I cook these days. 🙂

      Don’t worry, I’m sure I’ll find something else to rant about in no time.

  1. Your rant made me smile. 🙂 And the soup sounds terrific. Would I look up hippie vegan soup? All I have to do is tell the kids Aunt Alison gave me the recipe and they’ll eat it! It will make up for all the snickerdoodle blondies I have been eating as of late. Not kidding. I’ve been making them at least twice a week! They are so good.

    • You could google hippie vegan soup, but I’m not sure what you would find. I sort of just dumped stuff in a pot. That’s the only way I cook now.
      Snickerdoodle blondies are great! I’ve been eating too much junk this week; all the hippie vegan soup in the world couldn’t detox the damage I’ve done. 🙂

  2. I am currently in an area of town where people say ValentiMes. Yup. Just can’t get it right. I can’t wait for the holiday to be over if only to have 11 months off from that pronunciation mistake.

    And I would not like your soup. But I like you, so I suppose that evens it out. LOL.

Yo.

