Box ‘O Warmth

This weekend I busied myself by preparing another box of goodies to send to Craig and his troops.  As usual, this task was both enjoyable and a little bit frustrating.  It seems whenever I’m in the midst of tackling my list of goods to be baked, I curse myself repeatedly for being 1) a perfectionist and 2) messy.   The words messy and perfectionist don’t typically go hand in hand, but in my case, when it comes to my culinary adventures, I’m a huge mess maker.  My kitchen suffers the most when I’m in baking mode, but the good thing is that the mess can be wiped away.  Except, I keep finding remains of my baking spree in various nooks and crannies.  How exactly  did I get brownie batter in my utensil drawer?  Nevertheless, it was nice to be back in the kitchen this weekend; I’ve felt pretty ambivalent towards cooking/baking lately and putting together a box of goodies for Craig’s team was just the push I needed to get baking.  Never mind the fact that I baked chocolate chip cookies last weekend….and made cupcakes and brownies the week before that for a bake sale.  Don’t mind me; I’m making this up as I go.  Ha!

Compared to December’s Christmas box ‘o cheer, I kept things pretty low-key this time.  I tend to get over ambitious when it comes to trying new baked goods, but this time I managed to keep it simple, both for cost and sanity purposes.  I did manage to include some more drink mixes,  coffee and tea, to keep them warm.  It’s awfully snowy in Afghanistan!

There were brownies, as requested.

Peanut butter swirl:

 

 

and mint:

which were stuffed with Andes candy.

 

 

Also, as requested, snickerdoodle biscotti.

 

These men and women are making my life easy when they request things I’ve already made.  And in this case, when I forgot to photograph this weekend’s batch of snickerdoodle biscotti, all I had to do was look back to November’s box ‘o thanks and steal a picture.  I like when my life is easy!

Keeping with the requests/things I’ve already made theme, I also included oatmeal cinnamon chip cookies.

 


I did manage to add a never been tried recipe to the box.  And believe me when I say I will make these cake batter rice krispie treats again.  And again.  And again.

 

 

And again.

I’ll talk a little bit more about them tomorrow.  Because they really do deserve a post of their own.

Baking this weekend was fun, but I’m glad everything is packed and on its way to Afghanistan.  Having that many sugar and butter laden items in the house did nothing for my already terrible will power.  After eating the corners of two pans of brownies, I’m in dire need of a sugar detox.

Well, starting tomorrow.  It is Valentine’s Day, after all.

As you know, I’m the anti-romantic and couldn’t care less about Valentine’s Day, but I am a fan of chocolate.  I bought Caroline a small box of chocolates, since she’s my only valentine this year, and I’m hoping she’ll share with me.

I’m not holding my breath, though.  She happens to love the stuff just as much as me.

Happy Valentine’s Day!

4 responses

    • He does that on purpose. Buys you a cake and then sits back while you’re tortured by it. Eat it, don’t eat it. Just a bite. Just a sliver. Now it’s lop-sided, have to even it out now.

      Mmm…..cake.

      Come to think of it, I wouldn’t mind being tortured by cake.

      I made pudding. cake > pudding

Yo.

