Cake Batter Rice Krispie Treats

Make these.  Now.

No, really.  NOW.

Cake batter flavored treats are all the rage right now.  They have cake batter ice cream, cake batter cookies, cake batter truffles, fudge and blondies.  And now, the classic American rice krispie treat has gone cake batter-ified.

God Bless America.

I found the recipe here, but it’s almost too simple to require an actual recipe.

Take your basic rice krispie treat recipe (the one on the back of the box…or on the bag of marshmallows) and to the melted butter/marshmallow mixture, stir in, one spoonful at a time, 1/3 a cup of dry yellow cake mix straight from the box.

Once the dry cake mix is incorporated into the marshmallow mixture, you add the rice krispies and stir to coat.

Then add about half a small (1.75 oz)  bottle of sprinkles and stir.

Press the mixture in to a pan and top with the remaining sprinkles.

Cool.  Cut.  Die  Devour.

So simple.  So tasty.

Instead of using the regular sprinkles you might find in an ice cream shop, I used the little ball sprinkles.  I think they’re called nonpareils?  I found them with the other sprinkles/colored sugars in the cake mix aisle of the grocery store.  Anyway, with the addition of the crunchy nonpareil sprinkles, the flavor of these cake batter rice krispie treats, coupled with the texture of the sprinkles, reminds me of my childhood favorite frosted animal cookies.

You know, I went to Google images to find a picture of the frosted animal cookies, where I discovered the above picture….a picture I took and posted back in July.  Sweet!  Now I don’t have to credit the image source, because I am the image source.

Unless you’re weird (like Craig) and don’t like rice krispie treats or cake batter flavored items (in which case, I don’t understand you at all) I urge you to make these cake batter rice krispie treats.

I beg you.

I implore you.

Do it.

DoitdoitdoitdoitdoitDO.IT.

8 responses

    • Craig doesn’t like them, either. They hurt the roof of his mouth. There are a zillion and one recipes for cake batter flavored stuff….you could easily make something non rice krispie-ish but still cake batter-ish. I bought some rice krispies today to make a batch for us….although it’ll probably not end well when I eat more than my fair share. I’m sort of a failure at that portion control thing. Sigh.

  1. Those are such festive looking rice krispy treats! I love those sprinkles, although I hate cake batter flavored things. I am not a fan of cookie dough flavored things, either. I know, I’m weird.

  2. Brandel is reading this w/ me and begging me to make these treats! 🙂 also, for another box of the frosted animal crackers since he polished off the box last night before his brothers could have some.

Yo.

