Blank Dining Room Wall Update

It’s still blank.

I haven’t even attempted to shop for any items to hang on the blank wall.  I’m trying really hard to make February a month of judicious spending, so any recreational shopping has been put on the back burner for the time being.  I’m itching to go shopping, other than grocery shopping, that is.  Maybe next week?  Until then, I shall continue to stare at my blank wall.

It’s kind of serene.  Therapeutic, if you will.

On the flip side to my bare dining room wall, the remainder of our house was decorated quite festively for Valentine’s Day.

I may gag at the very thought of mushy-gushy lurve, but I certainly don’t mind a few red and pink decorations.  Sparkles, sparkles everywhere.

And, because I like to include all sorts of random garbage in my posts, I ran again today.  I finished ten miles with a faster pace than last week’s eight mile run, which made me happy.  But, do you know what did not make me happy?  Wind.  The stupid, stupid, blowing wind.   The first five miles were great; I even said to myself, ‘wow, this run is going really well.’

And then I turned around.

I turned around and faced the wind.

Running is super easy when the wind is on your back.  Head wind is a whole different animal.

Wind makes me mad.  I cursed silently.  I wanted to stop early and resorted to mind games and bribery to get myself to finish the run.

Yes, I bribed myself.  I told myself that if I finished the ten miles I could get a bagel instead of eating the boring banana I had waiting for me in the car.  Chewy carbs = motivation.  Instead of stopping my run at Starbucks, like I usually do, I finished my ten hard-fought miles at my car and drove to Dunkin Donuts.  I’m not sure why I chose the DD option over Starbucks this week, but I’m glad I did; the coffee and toasted bagel were just what I needed.

I’m happy I ran faster than last week, especially when half of the miles were being run directly into the blowing breeze, but I still have a long way to go to get back in the running shape I was in this past fall.  Physically and mentally.    I guess I need someone to run in front of me dangling a bagel from a string….that will definitely make me run faster!

Happy Friday!

2 responses

  1. Your valentine’s decorations look so cute. Maybe I should decorate. I suspect it’d improve my mood.

    High five on your run! You ran fast and there was wind. You must have been working really hard. Good job!*

Yo.

