I like Pi

It’s Pi Day!  I hope you’re celebrating by multiplying everything by 3.14 eating a big slice of pie.

Caroline’s math class had a Pi Day celebration today; pie was made, pie was measured and analyzed; pie was consumed.

It’s good to be a fourth grader.

Last week Caroline’s math teacher sent home a note asking that we send in a pie on Pi Day and I rejoiced.  Finally a math related task I could easily complete without the assistance of my pal, Google.  Baked goods are my love language, so I immediately signed up.  I may not understand pi, but I totally get pie.  I asked Caroline what kind of pie she wanted to bring and, without missing a beat, she said chocolate. Because chocolate is pretty much her answer for everything.   Hmm, I wonder where she got that trait?   Anyway, knowing that kids, most of whom do not have discerning palates, would be eating this pie, I decided to go the easy route and make a simple, yet delicious, chocolate pudding pie.

Food snobs, prepare to avert your eyes.

As I was gathering the ingredients:  chocolate pudding mix, milk, Cool Whip and an Ore0 pie crust, Caroline said, “Stephen said his mom is making a pie without any processed ingredients.’  And there in my kitchen, with a tub of Cool Whip in my hand, I laughed like I had never laughed before.  In the grand scheme of things, I prefer healthier, whole foods, too (just keep your hands off my Diet Pepsi), but noting my target demographic for this Pi Day extravaganza, I didn’t feel so bad about serving them a triple layer concoction of artificial colors, flavors and chemicals.

I may not be willing to compete with Stephen’s mom and her non-processed pie, however,  I did take the time to shave some anti-oxidant rich dark chocolate to appropriately embellish our Pi Day offering.

That is until Caroline bumped the pie with her knee on our walk to school, which caused the chocolate shavings to scatter about.  The pi shape was still recognizable albeit a bit blobbier.  We get points for trying, right?

Happy Pi Day!

6 responses

  1. I’m sure it was delicious regardless of the pi symbol’s appearance. I gotta say, Pi Day sounds so much more fun than Mole Day. When I was in high school, we learned about calculations in chemistry that invovle molarity. (I remember zero of this now. I can’t even believe I remember the word molarity!) We had to make shirts (with moles on them). And there was no pie. Pi Day for the win!*

    • Mole Day?! Ha! I don’t even know what molarity is. I took chemistry a long, long time ago and obviously, I slept through the molarity chapter. Maybe because we didn’t have Mole Day.
      I think Pi Day wins, hands down. Caroline said she had three pieces of pie in math class today. At 9am! Oy!

    • Amen! Cool Whip is a classic Americana and it shouldn’t be messed with. However, sometimes I buy that Tru Whip, which doesn’t have HFCS or hydrogenated oil in it; it’s pretty tasty, but, I learned the hard way that it doesn’t set up in pie like regular Cool Whip. We had pie soup that night!

  2. Oh, man! I totally missed Pi Day!
    I would’ve chosen rhubarb.

    My co-worker, JK made a Bailey’s Irish Cream cheesecake the other day that was amazing. The Cheesecake Factory should be very envious.

    Hope you run fast and fun (?) Saturday….run, Althin, run!

    • I don’t super love fruit pie, but I wouldn’t turn down a slice of peach pie. Caroline had key lime pie yesterday and she really liked it. I should make one. But then I’d eat it all.

      Irish cream cheesecake sounds really good.

      Thanks for the run wishes. We’ll see how it goes! I’ve been eating plenty of jelly beans for fuel!

Yo.

