Rockin’ and Rollin’

It’s half marathon time.


This is only my third half marathon and for the third time, I feel wholly unprepared.  I wish I dedicated more time to training, but the truth is I love running in races way more than I love training for races.  On a daily basis I’d much rather attend a group exercise class than pound the same pavement over and over and over; for that reason alone I hesitate to call myself a runner.   Runners love running; I love it only sometimes.  Because I’d rather go to BodyPUMP than run five days a week, I enter every race unsure of my abilities.  I suppose, by this admission,  you’d assume that I don’t care about my racing splits, but that couldn’t be further from the truth. I care. I care too much.  I care too much, yet I still only run two or three times a week, and then I worry about my performance.  I don’t think I’ll ever learn.   I never go to a race thinking I’ll just casually jog and enjoy the scenery; when I enter a race I want to beat my previous time.  I realize that can’t/won’t always happen, because racing can be unpredictable; so many things can go wrong.

Sigh.  Now I’m freaking myself out.

I hope everything goes well tomorrow.  There’s nothing better than finishing strong and coming home happy and proud.

In an effort to do my best to prepare my body for tomorrow’s race I’ve been drinking extra water and carbing up.  Last October I ran my fastest half marathon the day after I ate my weight in candy corn.  This time I’m eating jelly beans.  Because I’m all about eating seasonally.

Hopefully jelly beans will have the same magical speed-inducing running properties as candy corn.  I’ll be sure to let you know.  For the sake of science, of course.

I hope I have a good story to tell tomorrow.  I hope I don’t step in a pothole.  I hope they have good bagels at the finish line.

And because tomorrow is St. Patrick’s Day, I hope the luck o’ the Irish is on my side.  With a surname like Kennedy, my chances are favorable, right?

6 responses

  1. I’m right there with you in regards to the unpreparedness! But, the weather should be nice and I’m looking forward to a fun run. Get some sleep and maybe I’ll see you in the morning! 🙂

    • What corral are you in? I’m in 8. I’m happy about the weather, for sure. No need to worry about layers. I still may bring a throw away long sleeved shirt for before the race. Fingers crossed for a great race!

Yo.

