Striped Delight

Long time no blog.  Again.

Did you have a nice weekend?  I did, which was much appreciated. You know, because my weekdays are jam-packed with so many stressful and demanding tasks, that I couldn’t possibly bear to have anything less than a stellar weekend.

Anyway, on Saturday, after running with our Croc Trotters running group in the wee hours of the morning (or 7:30am), Caroline and I joined our friends to catch a matinée performance of the local middle school’s production of “Annie.”  As far as middle school productions of “Annie” go, it was really quite good.  As expected, there were a few ‘pitchy’ moments, but overall the kids did a really great job.  You have to give them lots of credit for doing what they do because it takes a lot of courage to stand up on stage and sing.  As if middle school isn’t awkward enough, standing up in front of an audience of your peers to sing and dance is pretty gutsy.

Also on this weekend’s agenda was a farewell dinner for the same friends with whom we went to the ‘theater.’   Side note:  that was an awkward sentence.  I tried to eliminate the whole ending a sentence with a preposition thing, like smart people do, but it only made my sentence more awkward and pretentious.  I think I’ll stick with the grammar idiot approach, which would read:  Also on this weekend’s agenda was a farewell dinner for the same friends we went to the ‘theater’ with.  And what better way to send your good friends off than with a dish full of chocolatey goodness?  I’m not so good at expressing verbal sentiment, so I prefer to do it in the form of chocolate.  I’m fairly certain chocolate is the universal medium for conveying sentiment.  And if it isn’t officially labeled as such, it should be.  Is there a government agency for such things?

Anyhow, at a Super Bowl party last month, another friend made something called Striped Delight, which is rich, decadent and a total crowd pleaser.

Instead of the Cool Whip the recipe calls for, my friend substituted her own freshly whipped cream.  Now, I’m certainly not a food snob, as evidenced by my adoration for tater tots, jelly beans candy corn and diet soda, and I do appreciate the Cool Whip,  but I figured I’d do the same thing, since this was the only way we had all tried this dessert.  As I pondered the assemblage of this Striped Delight, I started thinking about the fresh whipped cream.  And, as usual, when I start thinking, bad things happen; I imagined all the maybes and what ifs and potential failures that may occur.

I wish I could shut that part of my brain off; it’s ugly in there.

So, as I thought, I began to worry that the whipped cream wouldn’t hold up well because it is absent of all those wonderful chemical stabilizers present in a tub of Cool Whip.  Since I’d rather shave off all my hair than offer a dish with weeping, deflated whipped cream, I began a search for a stabilized whipped cream recipe.  All I can say is God bless Google.  Where would I be without Google?  Google has provided me with answers to help Caroline solve math problems; it has fixed my grammar mistakes (usually); it has helped me change car batteries and toilet handles; and now, it has shown me how to make stabilized whipped cream.

God Bless Google and Al Gore’s amazing Internet.

So, if you’re ever in a situation where you’d like to swap Cool Whip for your own fresh (and stable) whipped cream, I offer you this handy tip:  dry pudding mix.

Ahem, please pretend this box of pudding isn’t opened, sideways and perched in front of a canister of protein powder.  I need to fire my photographer.  And my cleaning lady……but, that’s a different story for a different day.

Basically, for every pint of heavy whipping cream, you add 1 tablespoon of dry pudding mix and 1/3 cup of sifted confectioners sugar and then whip, whip, whip it until it’s fluffy and whipped cream/Cool Whip-like.  I realize that the addition of chemical-laden pudding mix virtually negates the whole ‘real food’ approach to using your own whipped cream in lieu of the Cool Whip, but like I said, I’m no food snob.  And also?  The term ‘real food’ makes me want to poke my eyeballs out.  It’s so pretentious.

And furthermore, the Striped Delight contains butter, Oreos, chocolate pudding mix and a whole block of cream cheese.  A little extra dry pudding mix isn’t really going to matter.

Dessert shouldn’t be that complicated.

4 responses

  1. That looks sooooooo good. Also real cream + pudding is still ten times more real than Cool Whip, which I think is made out of crude oil and corn syrup residue. (I’m not a “real food” snob, but the ingredients for Cool Whip freak me out.)

    • Yeah, it’s pretty scary. There is a product called Tru Whip, which is a little more on the natural side, but I used it in a pie once and we ended up with pie soup.

  2. I’m drooling over here! It looks deelish! You have skills. I would’ve had to use cool whip; my skills are so weak that I can’t even whip cream. Did your friends like it?*

    • That was the first time I ever whipped real cream. Actually, my Kitchen Aid did all the work, but I was kind of nervous. If you over whip cream, it turns to butter. Butter is delicious, but it wouldn’t work in the recipe. Everyone seemed to like it. The recipe makes a huge amount and I originally thought I should halveit, but it’s a good thing I didn’t because there wasn’t much left. Always a good sign!

Yo.

