Blogger Guilt

I’m guilty.

Guilty of blog neglect.

I feel like I should blog because I have a blog and when one has a blog, one should blog.  However, as I say over and over, I just don’t have much going on in my life right now.  Well, actually, I feel like I have a lot going on in my life, but I can’t really blog about it.  I’m not keeping secrets; it’s just hard to write what I’m truly thinking when ‘people’ (though, not many) read my blog.  And by people, I mean a varying group of people.  Not just one particular people person.  People I know in real life who will call me up after reading a blog post and inquire about my mental health.  Or something like that. 

I don’t really have anything specific to complain about.  I don’t even have any thing specific which is causing  anxiety in my life.  I just don’t feel like spewing my verbal vomit (eww, sorry, that’s gross) all over the blog.  It’s probably better (albeit unhealthy) to keep it all zipped up inside.

In a way, I suppose having a blog has taught me to have a better filter.  If I did write everything I was feeling, I’d probably regret it.  You know, like when you’re having an argument with your spouse and you say something you totally didn’t mean and can’t take back.  One time I told Craig his beloved pair of faded jeans looked like Obama’s dorky  ‘dad jeans.’

He didn’t appreciate that very much.

In person, I have no filter, but here on the blog, I’ve developed the ability to not always type what I’m truly thinking/feeling because I know it’s hard to ever fully erase what has been posted on the Internet. 

See, I do use my brain occasionally.

In other news, I made lentil loaf for dinner the other night and I’ve been eating it every day because a lentil loaf recipe yields a lot of lentil loaf.  It’s a good thing I like it.  I actually convinced myself that Craig may even like lentil loaf because it really did have a similar texture to traditional meatloaf.  Plus, I made a sweet/spicy/ketchupy glaze for the top, which contributed to the meatloaf like-ness of my humble vegetarian lentil loaf.  I figure if I serve mashed potatoes on the side, Craig just might give lentil loaf a chance.

Also, back in my meat eating days, I’d take leftover meatloaf and make grilled meatloaf and cheese sandwiches on sourdough bread, which were REALLY good.  As it turns out, leftover lentil loaf makes for a tasty grilled sandwich, as well.

I like saying lentil loaf.  It  makes me giggle.

I need a life.

If I was to encounter a genie in a bottle who would kindly grant me three wishes, one of my wishes would be for Craig and I to have similar food likes and preferences.   It was easy to cook dinner every night when I ate meat; in fact, I loved making new recipes nearly every night of the week.  Now that I don’t eat meat, figuring out how to cook a real dinner every night is going to take some getting used to.

Craig cannot live by lentil loaf alone.

Speaking of dinner, it’s 5:05 and at 4:13 Caroline informed me that she planned to eat dinner at 5:00.  She’s currently outside with her friend, but I’m sure she’ll be in shortly for refueling.  I best get cracking on her dinner, or she’ll be quite unamused.  Girlfriend is cranky when she’s hungry.

I wonder where she got that trait?  😉

11 responses

  1. It was pretty funny when you came here, and I was cooking for you, and you NEVER mentioned you don’t eat meat. We had been emailing back and forth about what to have for Caroline and was she picky and what does she like and you didn’t mention you were not eating meat. Lord, what if I had bought steaks? LOL. I think you should do a post about why you don’t eat meat…I mean, I never really asked you the reasoning behind it. Although, I do know you’ve always been a little bit of a weird eater, and I mean that in the kindest way possible. 🙂 Blog about meat!

    There, I’ve been helpful. You now have a new topic and can expand on where you find all sorts of wonderful veggie recipes and what you substitute in for meat/proteins. And this lentilk loaf…I think a picture is necessary.

    Get crackin’.

    • I should have taken a picture. Unfortunately, I ate it all. Lentil loaf really isn’t that photogenic, though. Lentil loaf. Lentil loaf. Lentil loaf. Ha! The thing is, I prefer to not eat meat, but it’s not necessarily an ethical thing, so, if I was at a house for dinner where steak was served, I’d probably eat it because I wouldn’t want to be rude. However, if there are veggie options (especially with tacos!) I’ll choose those first. My body feels 1000% better when I don’t eat meat. Which is good, because that saves more room for chocolate.

      I’m definitely a weird eater….but YOU don’t like buttercream or cake batter flavored things. Which, to me, is totally bizarre. 😉

  2. I know what you mean about “people.” Recently one of my coworkers showed my principal a post I had written about another coworker and it got messy, way messy. I went back and made some old posts private, and I now try to be extra super careful when I write about work. I always figured, “Who cares what little ol’ me has to say about anything?!” Lesson learned.*

    • I was wondering if your school friends, principal, etc.. knew about your blog. You definitely have to be very careful what you write just in case a student comes across your blog, or even worse, a coworker shows the blog to the principal! Sheesh. That couldn’t have been fun. Something similar happened to my friend; she said something off the cuff and it got kind of ugly. I’m sorry you had to deal with that.

  3. There are a lot of things I would like to write about on my blog, but I know that my mom would worry unnecessarily about me. I’m not crazy, but sometimes the crazy needs an outlet, you know? 🙂

  4. I’m appreciating your blog, it’s funny, I can totally relate (about not spewing mental ‘vomit’ because people would think you are crazy), and it’s an amusing distraction for me. Thanks, and I’m also interested in the vegetarian question. And the recipe for lentil loaf.

    • Thanks, Carol! Here’s the recipe I used: http://www.theawl.com/2010/11/lentil-loaf

      I tweaked it a bit, because I can never leave well enough alone. I omitted the carrots and soy sauce (I was out) and used cooked bulgar in place of the cooked brown rice. The first time I made the recipe, I used rice; I used bulgar this time because I was out of rice, but I much preferred the texture the bular lent to the final product. I also added a sprinkle of parmesan; additionally, I think I’ll add another egg next time to increase the moisture level.

      For the ketchupy glaze, I took a small can of tomato sauce, added 2 Tablespoons of dark brown sugar, a couple of glugs of balsamic vinegar, a generous squirt of ketchup, some cumin (for smokiness), cayenne, salt and pepper and then I let it simmer and reduce until it thickened. I added it to the lentil loaf about halfway through the baking process so that it didn’t burn.

      I thought it was tasty, but I like that sort of thing. It’s defintely crunchy, hippie food, but it should be noted that I drank a diet pepsi while I ate the lentil loaf and then I probably ate three handfuls of Oreos afterwards. Ha!

Yo.

