Feeding Time

We interrupt this previously lifeless blog to share with you this picture:

tree+honolulu zoo 100

It totally cracks me up.

We went to the zoo today and witnessed two very hungry hippos being fed apples for lunch.  They stood still, with their heads above water, their mouths open wide, ready to accept the apples, which were being dropped from somewhere up above.  Despite the HUGE openings, the apple throwers missed a few times.  I’m a horribly inaccurate thrower, but I’m pretty sure even I wouldn’t miss those gaping holes.

 

tree+honolulu zoo 094

 

 

Even though we saw many pretty things,

 

tree+honolulu zoo 061tree+honolulu zoo 080

 

 

 

tree+honolulu zoo 117

 

the hippos were still my favorite.

I know I’ve been absent lately….and for the past several months, really….but this move has really kicked my tail.  Emotionally, not physically, that is. We’ve been unpacked for weeks ( I have lightning quick unpacking super powers) but I have a few finishing touches to add, decoration wise, which will happen soon.  Unfortunately, my crafting options are limited without access to Michael’s.  Of all the things Hawaii doesn’t have, not being able to shop at Michael’s for discount craft supplies is the one which burdens me the most.  Is that what one might call a first world problem?  Ahem.

Oh well, what Hawaii lacks in Michael’s craft stores, it more than makes up for in self-serve frozen yogurt franchises.

Anyway, once our Christmas decorations are back in storage and our house returns to its ‘normal’ state, I’ll take some pictures to share with you.

Until then, I wish you all a very Merry Christmas.

For in the words of Gladys Herdman, “Hey, unto you a child is born!”

9 responses

  1. I can’t help but look at the hippo and think, “I want a hippopotamus for Christmas!” Haha! I love hippos, too. They can do the coolest twirling things with their ears. Sadly, the last zoo I visited had no hippos. Rip off!

    I hope y’all had a very Merry Christmas. I’m sure you were hanging out with the Prez and drinking shaved ice.*

  2. I’ve been wondering about you and thinking you must be overwhelmed to stay away from blogging. I hope you had a wonderful Christmas! Jackson had fun with all the tissue paper and wrapping paper and likes some of his toys. He is totally adorable and cute.

    No Michaels? That sucks. I would be going through major craft withdrawal as well! Sheesh. I guess Walmart does carry a lot of things if they have a craft section, but not as comprehensive as my beloved Michaels.

    Can’t wait to see pics of the new place. I wish it were warmer here but you enjoy the warmth for me!

Yo.